Welcome to Our Website


About Us

The Tippecanoe Music Teachers Association, formerly known as the Tippecanoe Piano Teachers Network, was established in 1986 to support quality music education in the greater Lafayette area. All TMTA members also belong to the Music Teachers National Association and the Indiana Music Teachers Association. By coordinating the efforts of individual music teachers, TMTA is able to produce many exciting music activities which contribute to the cultural richness of our city and help build the creative, intellectual, social, and physical skills of our students.

Our members provide instruction on a variety of different instruments as well as music theory and education. See our Services Overview at the bottom of this page.

Use the sidebar menu to the right in order to review the listing of all of our current member teachers. Feel free to contact any of us. We will be more than glad to help you through your musical journey.

For more information on our Vision, Values and Code of Ethics, click here.


The 2017 Monster Concert, a grand piano extravaganza, is Thursday, June 8 at 7:00pm at Long Center for the Performing Arts.  It features piano ensemble music, performed on ten pianos by approximately 150 pianists grade 3 to adult, playing in groups of up to 20 at a time.  The concert is sponsored by the Tippecanoe Music Teachers Association and will be directed by Nadya Dubikovsky of West Lafayette.   Patriotic, popular and jazz arrangements, classical works and more will be performed by students who represent 19 local independent piano studios. 

In conjunction with the 2017 Monster Concert, TMTA is producing a public arts/music project for the Greater Lafayette area.  “Pianos for the Street” will place six decorated pianos at various locations in Lafayette and West Lafayette for the playing pleasure of the public.  This is a repeat of the highly successful and popular project TMTA did in the summer of 2014.

Monster Concerts have a long history in Lafayette, dating to 1979 when area adult pianists performed the first of four Monster Concerts that were a part of the Midsummer Arts Festival.   The Piano Teachers Network (now the Tippecanoe Music Teachers Association) began producing the biennial concerts for students in 1987.   With this year’s concert, over 2,000 students have had the opportunity to experience piano teamwork on a large scale.   Since 1989, TMTA has presented a concert piano bench to the Lafayette Symphony Orchestra, helped in the maintenance of the LSO Steinway concert grand piano (which was purchased with funds from the 1979-1982 programs), contributed to the purchase and maintenance of a grand piano for community use at the West Lafayette Public Library, provided a concert bench for that piano, and helped support the annual West Lafayette Musicale’s Jamieson Piano Competition.   Several years ago, TMTA donated a Steinway grand piano and concert bench to the Tippecanoe Arts Federation which TMTA had housed and maintained at TAF for many years.

TMTA provides many educational and performance opportunities for area piano students through events such as the Sunday Showcase Recitals, Achievement in Music Festival and IMTA District Auditions as well as continuing education opportunities for members. 

A sustained education in music provides intellectual and creative advantages that last a lifetime.   Among the benefits of music study are the development of self-confidence, self-discipline and an outlet for self-expression.  The 2017 Monster Concert provides all of these experiences for local piano students. 

Tickets for the 2017 Monster Concert are $7 in advance on June 5-6-7 at Long Center, and $5 at the door on June 8.

Mosey Down Main Street

Our first Saturday evening's TMTA Mosey Down Main Street. Thanks to all who stopped by to talk, and to those who participated in the event.


Our Current Officers

Ginnie Luce Co-President
Caryl Matthews Co-President
Cynthia Gribble Recording Secretary
Rose Hallberg Treasurer
Chris Legler, Member at Large

Standing Committees Chairpersons

AIM Festivals: Dan Whiteley
Monster Concerts:TMTA Board of Directors:
Sunday Showcase Recitals: Melanie Manges
Sonatina/Sonata Festival: Melanie Manges

Monster Concert 2011

A Grand Piano Extravaganza


Pianos for the Street 2014

You may recognize a few of the participants in our Pianos for the Street event.